Home Production team Oscars production team adds Questlove, Richard LaGravanese and Dream Hampton

Oscars production team adds Questlove, Richard LaGravanese and Dream Hampton


The Oscars producers revealed the production team for this year’s ceremony, including Questlove as the show’s musical director and Richard LaGravenese and Dream Hampton as writers.

Jesse Collins, Stacey Sher and Steven Soderbergh, the producers of this year’s Oscars, announced a total of 14 new cast members on Wednesday. This follows news that Glenn Weiss will return to direct the series with the intention of making it more cinematic than previous Oscar shows.

Members added to this year’s show are supervising producer Rob Paine, co-producers Jeannae Rouzan-Clay, Dionne Harmon and Raj Kapoor, talent producer Taryn Hurd, writers Amberia Allen, Rodney Barnes, Dream Hampton, Mitchell Marchand and Richard LaGravenese and the head writer. Jon Macks, music director Questlove, production designer David Rockwell and lighting designer Robert Dickinson.

The Roots Questlove crew chief previously served as music director for artists like D’Angelo, Eminem and Jay-Z, and he produced the documentary series ‘Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America’ through his production company Two One Five Entertainment. He recently directed the Sundance-winning documentary “Summer of Soul” and will next direct a documentary on Sly Stone. He is also a member of the Academy and has already performed at the Oscars.

As Allen, Barnes and Marchand all return to the Oscars, it’s a first for LaGravenese and Hampton. Hampton is the producer of “Surviving R. Kelly” on Lifetime, and LaGravenese is the Oscar-nominated writer of “The Fisher King” and director of “Freedom Writers.”

Rouzan-Clay and Harmon are both first-time producers on the show. Kapoor is joining the Oscars for the fifth time and Paine has been with the Academy for over 20 years. Hurd returns for its eighth year.

The Oscars will air live on ABC on Sunday, April 25, 2021.