Home Production team SAG Awards production team led by EPs Jon Brockett and Kathy Connell

SAG Awards production team led by EPs Jon Brockett and Kathy Connell


Jon Brockett has been tapped to serve as executive producer for this year’s Screen Actors Guild Awards, joining EP Kathy Connell at the helm. Brockett had previously served as the show’s producer and has been a part of the SAG Awards since its fifth show, while Connell has been at the ceremony since its debut in 1995.

Brockett and Connell are part of this year’s production team, which the SAG Awards announced on Thursday. Hazy Mills Productions’ Sean Hayes and Todd Milliner Are Not Returning, who EPs with Connell from the 2019 and 2020 in-person events, as well as last year’s pre-recorded virtual special.

For 2022, as previously reported, the SAG Awards are shaking things up by moving the venues, to the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica. It’s still unclear if there will be a host for the show, which airs Feb. 27 at 8 p.m. ET on TNT and TBS. The show will also be available the following day on HBO Max.

Joining Connell as EP, Brockett will oversee the annual SAG Awards telecast and all related operations, including the SAG-AFTRA Special Projects Department, and serve as the SAG Awards Liaison to the SAG-AFTRA Foundation, which is the primary beneficiary of the issue. In his previous role, Brockett already handled the creative aspects of the production, overseeing packages, talent engagement, as well as submissions, voting, FYC campaigns and seating.

SAG Awards Committee members JoBeth Williams, Daryl Anderson, Jason George, Woody Schultz and Elizabeth McLaughlin will return as producers for SAG-AFTRA. Benn Fleishman and Gloria Fujita O’Brien are returning as producers on behalf of Avalon Harbor Entertainment.

Director Sandra Restrepo is new to the production team; her recent directing credits include the Soul Train Awards, “New Year’s Eve Live: Nashville’s Big Bash”, “A Grammy Salute to the Sounds of Change”, and “My Gift: A Christmas Special from Carrie Underwood”.

Writers Matt Roberts and Beth Sherman return for the third consecutive year, joined by Nefetari Spencer. His songwriting credits include American Music Awards, BET Awards, Emmy Awards, MTV Movie & TV Awards, Soul Train Awards and “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve”.

The musical director for the SAG Awards will be Diane Louie, who is joining the show for the first time. Louie’s recent credits include Academy Awards, Emmys, Kennedy Center Honors, Musicares, and more.

Production designer Joe Stewart joins the SAG Awards production team for the 18th year. Stewart has won five Emmy Awards and an Art Directors Guild Award. Her live event credits include the American Music Awards, NAACP Image Awards, Miss America, ESPY Awards and more.

Lighting designer Simon Miles returns to the SAG Awards production team for the fifth year; Jen Coyne-Hoerle was promoted to coordinating producer overseeing box office, seating, rules and regulations, submissions, FYC campaigns, and voting for on-air and pre-show awards. Also returning this year are Kristen Hansen Brakeman as Supervising Producer, Bob Dussault as Post-Producer, and Patrick J. Doody as Film Segment Producer.

Maggie Barrett Caulfield has been promoted to co-producer and returns for her 22nd show overseeing talent booking. Sarah Cowperthwaite and Joe Petrovich are joining the production team as talent producers, and Christina Canseco has been hired as publicity executive.